HELP! Creating Batches

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

Status
Not open for further replies.

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
It has been requested that once you create a recipe, you can then 'Start a Batch' which will track the batch to completion and provide you e-mails when the batch is getting ready, etc.

What all features do you want to know for each batch you want to track?

What notifications/warnings do you want to see?
 

amd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
3,373
Reaction score
4,478
Location
South Dakota
I also would like the ability to opt out.

The only notification I would like is that the soap is cured based on whatever cure time I put in the system.
 

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
Well there wouldn't really be an opt out? I guess I don't understand.

There would be a button that states 'Create a Batch' on each recipe to start a batch.
 

amd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
3,373
Reaction score
4,478
Location
South Dakota
Well, that makes more sense. I was thinking that once you made your recipe it would automatically start the 'batch' process. Thinking about it more, I don't think I would even want an email notification. Something like SM3 "my products" screen would be enough for me. I'm at work so don't have access to SM3 to show how it looks. If I remember tonight I'll post it.
 

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
Thanks! Yea it would be great to get feedback on what My Products is and what features you use from it are.
 

Alfa_Lazcares

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
409
Reaction score
469
Location
México
Personally i would only want it to tell me when is ready. Not remainders when its about to like “just one more week left!” Nope. But someting more like “xyz batch is done!”
 

TeresaGG

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
234
Reaction score
104
Location
Oregon
I would like to only have a notice or email saying xyz batch is done. I would also like a batch list that I could order by date made or batch due date or name.
 

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
Ok so let's compile the asks;
  • An ability to set a reminder for when the batch is done (optional)
  • Ability to sort batches by creation date and due date
What else? Maybe notes on the batch?
 

artemis

Mostly Harmless
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
1,720
Reaction score
2,444
Location
Sol system, Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Ok so let's compile the asks;
  • An ability to set a reminder for when the batch is done (optional)
  • Ability to sort batches by creation date and due date
What else? Maybe notes on the batch?
How about the ability to search through the batches. Say I can remember that I made a batch with turmeric, but I don't remember which recipe I used. I could search "turmeric" in order to find the right one.
 

Soapaddict_Kay

Supporting Member
Joined
May 27, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
9
Yeah I would like a search option for specific batches as well! That would be a neat feature
 

Dawni

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
2,885
Reaction score
4,087
Location
Philippines
Search options by fats, additives, scents, batch weight.. Will it work for any keyword you input? I'm sorry I don't really know how search functions work lol

Sorting options by creation date, due date, batch weight

Customisable reminders.. Tick if you want or not want em to tell you to go check if your soap is ready to unmold and cut, when cure time (that you set yourself somewhere) is over, etc. so if you're a newbie you have access to help but if you're a seasoned soaper you don't get irritated with useless notifications.. Unless you forget to untick hahaha
 

Soapaddict_Kay

Supporting Member
Joined
May 27, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
9
that's nice but it would be useful for people that do not have Soapmaker3
 

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
That's correct. The goal is to offer a SaaS (program you can access from any device) software that includes every single feature of all soapmaking calculators/recipe builders combined.

So if we are missing a feature you use elsewhere, we want to include it.
 

Admin

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
182
Location
San Marcos, Texas
Search options by fats, additives, scents, batch weight.. Will it work for any keyword you input? I'm sorry I don't really know how search functions work lol

Sorting options by creation date, due date, batch weight

Customisable reminders.. Tick if you want or not want em to tell you to go check if your soap is ready to unmold and cut, when cure time (that you set yourself somewhere) is over, etc. so if you're a newbie you have access to help but if you're a seasoned soaper you don't get irritated with useless notifications.. Unless you forget to untick hahaha
Great suggestions! Thanks. Anyone else have any batch specific requests?

Do you all use the Soapmaker 3 inventory data much?
 

TeresaGG

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
234
Reaction score
104
Location
Oregon
Search options by fats, additives, scents, batch weight.. Will it work for any keyword you input? I'm sorry I don't really know how search functions work lol

Sorting options by creation date, due date, batch weight

Customisable reminders.. Tick if you want or not want em to tell you to go check if your soap is ready to unmold and cut, when cure time (that you set yourself somewhere) is over, etc. so if you're a newbie you have access to help but if you're a seasoned soaper you don't get irritated with useless notifications.. Unless you forget to untick hahaha
I would have it unchecked by default
 

TeresaGG

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
234
Reaction score
104
Location
Oregon
I would like the ability to have an ingrediants inventory. Keeping track of where and when each ingrediant used in a batch was bought. So if there are problems such as DOS in a batch you could maybe better guess the source.
Estimating the batch-bar-oz cost is important to me even I don't sell. I want to keep track of my cost and savings.
I tried to make my own database for this but i don't have the time to go deep enough learning how to make it do all I want.

Edit- maybe have an advanced tab oe area for this so we don't scare those users who are new.
 
Last edited:
2
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top