Hello

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kathy Mehl

Reaction score
Hello everyone. This is my first time texting on this forum. I’m new to the business and still in the learning curve. Getting a business off the ground requires so much. How did you do it? I’m so overwhelmed at times with learning Craftybase and QuickBooks and photoshop or Maestro for making my own labels through online labels and taking photos. My favorite part is making the products. All the background parts I’m intimidated by. It involves so much starting a business and acquiring all that’s needed. How did you do it, and how long did it take you to get off the ground and soar?
KathyM

Attachments

• C881485C-1851-40D9-87BE-4104CB2349DE.jpeg
    C881485C-1851-40D9-87BE-4104CB2349DE.jpeg
    169.3 KB · Views: 11
I am the owner of a small business. Although my biz has nothing to do with soap, I think I can offer some perspective.

Many small biz owners start out like you -- they like to make soap (or other B&B products) and then they decide to turn that hobby or sideline into a business. Many of those people soon learn that a fun hobby isn't nearly as much fun when turned into a business.

I don't live in Florida but what I've learned from Floridians on this forum is Fla has stricter regulations for soap makers than most states. You will need to know your state's regulations if you haven't researched that already. You'll also want to know if Florida requires a state tax ID. And if it does, you'll want to learn how to collect, report and pay the correct local and state sales taxes.

Also consider how you want to legally structure your business. At first it might be fine to be a sole proprietor and report the biz income as personal income, but as you grow, you'll probably want to structure your business differently.