Hello from the middle of Canada!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trisher

Reaction score
Hello. My name is Pat (or Trisher) and I am afraid that I am becoming a soapaholic. I want to make soap - every. single. day. I have been soaping since January and so far so good. I want to try every colour and swirl technique I see!
Question for you: What am I going to do with all this soap!!!! I know I can't sell until I am a pro - and I don't think I want to sell anyways. I will give to family (with a disclaimer that I am new etc.) and they seem happy to take the risks :)

There's a few threads on the forum with suggestions that members have done with their excess soap. I'll link them up when I find them.

My go to: My church has a free will donation area, people bring things they don't want, and if someone else wants it they will donate a fair price. All the money goes to our youth programs. I also take in a box to my work and set in the break room.

The nicer bars I'd put away and gift at Christmas. After they are a month or two old, you could put them in a paper bag or a cardboard box to keep dust, hair etc off of them.

You could also put out a box that says "Handmade Soap - Free to a Good Home" or something at your work or church.

I love the idea of giving to a food bank, but my local one won't return my calls or emails. I just want to know if I have to package or label it. If not...I'd love to just drop off a box.

I gifted a bunch of things to my local YWCA, but again those were labels and shrink wrapped.

Hello and Welcome! I started giving it out to family/friends after about 8 months of collecting all the soap I had made. I had close to 400 or so bars I think. I also donated some of it to shelters.