Hello from NC

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MickeyRat

Reaction score
Hello from Hickory, NC!

I've only been making soap for a couple months. I'm a hobbyist so I make small batches (18oz fat - 6 bars) but, I'm keeping myself and family supplied trying different things. I'm not the patient type and I don't have space to cure soap for months so, I mostly cold process oven process though I have done some hot process.

I've switched to using shampoo bars and homemade charcoal facial soap so decided to try to make the only soap I'm still using that I don't make - shave soap. I've spent the better part of a week lurking and reading Songbird's awesome thread. I'll be trying it today.

I look forward to learning from people that know what they are doing. :)

Welcome.

I hope that you do know that CPOP does NOT make soap that you can use right away, not even HP you can do that.
You can make MP soap that you can use right away if you want.

I didn't mean to give the impression that I pop it out of the mold, cut it and use it. I think I might have used my first (horrible) batch the next day. Now I let it cure for at least a week. Two weeks is better. Longer is required if I screw up like the time I put in 15% shea butter. It is fully saponified the next day. I've zap tested and washed my hands with scraps. It works fine but, it needs to harden a bit and some fragrances I've used need some time to really get where they need to be.

At the rate I've been making it, I just don't have the space or the patience to go a month or more which is the kind of time I see recommended for CP. Now if you folks want to tell me my impression of cure times is wrong, that's exactly the kind of thing I need to hear. So feel free to correct me on this.