Hello from metro Detroit

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all... My name is Michelle, but that was taken so I'm using my gaming handle for my account. :D

I caught the soaping bug the way I do everything else... See it, get curious, research obsessively for a bit, and dive in head first. My kids and husband have even learned a lot about soap because I watch YouTube videos on the television! Fortunately they're used to my crafty obsessions... When I fell in love with cooking, I went to culinary school, and now I've been knitting and crocheting for about 9 years. Last weekend I finally got around to learning to knit entrelac by starting a big shawl with a color shifting yarn. (It's going well, btw.)

I've been lurking here for a while, as this place usually pops up when I Google a question, so I figured I ought to say something.

When I made my first soap (basic unscented and uncolored olive, coconut, & castor) I made the mistake of doing a CPOP with a high level of olive oil, and also let it go too long. It was soap, but it broke a bit. I went to rebatch in a crock pot, and long story short, I think I accidentally made clear soap. Hoo-boy. :eek:

Hello and Welcome from another metro Detroiter. How long did you CPOP. Generally you just need to heat the oven and then turn it off when you put the soap in. When I do it (not often) I just leave it overnight.

I caught the soaping bug the way I do everything else... See it, get curious, research obsessively for a bit, and dive in head first.
Welcome! Mosey on over to the Beginner's Forum and find the Sticky "Beginner's Learn to Soap Online". Lots of good info there to get you started. Take a cuppa along and scroll down to Lovin' Soap Studio to get a handle on most of the stuff we talk about here.