Hello from Brooklyn

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martha

Reaction score
hi everyone,
So happy to have found you. I made my first batch of soap about a year ago so I could then teach my Girl Scout troop. Both batches came out great.

I put it aside until recently when I decided it would be nice to make soap as holiday gifts. I have completely fallen down the rabbit hole. I’ve been reading this forum and looking at way too many videos on all the amazing pouring and swirling techniques.

As another newbie said, I am a maker. I studied photography. I knit and spin. I design and take care of gardens for a living, which is a great way to be creative and add some nature in this big city.

Glad I found you guys.

Welcome Martha :). The only rabbit hole that I have is the one the bunny digs :D.

Welcome Martha :). The only rabbit hole that I have is the one the bunny digs :D.
Ha ha! I told myself I couldn’t start crocheting or weaving because I already have too many hobbies and now half a shelf in my closet is filled with oils and other soapy goodies.

Welcome.gif

You're from Brooklyn? Let me give you the NYCer test: Where in Manhattan is the Empire State Building located? :p
I think it’s where all the tourists are. My Girl Scout Troop sold cookies in the lobby there 3 years ago.

If you’re a New Yorker, could you let me know some local places for lye? I ran out and wanted to make more soap this week.

I think it’s where all the tourists are. My Girl Scout Troop sold cookies in the lobby there 3 years ago.

If you’re a New Yorker, could you let me know some local places for lye? I ran out and wanted to make more soap this week.