Hello Everyone!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Queenbee26babies

Reaction score
I am brand new to soap making! I have watched videos, read audio books, researched and although there are ton of recipes. I am still stuck trying to find that one AHA! One recipe to master a bar of soap. I.prefer cold process but it takes so long to cure. I am now interested in hot process because it seems like its less curing time. Is that true?
I dont want to do melt n pour unkidsless no alternatives i love controling my ingredients. i.am purely organic based vegan as thats all the rage.
My last soap had ton of bubbles it never traced and is still soft that was two days ago.
Recipe consisted of high EO 15 oz , CO 18 oz, safflower 1 oz and jojoba 2 oz lye 4.75. Give or take that was the recipe.
This was way too soft of a soap i think!
I would like to make soap making into a business.
I really need a solid bar inexpensive oils ( i love whole sale plus suppliers) that has a great lather with bubbles but is vegan and that i.can make many varieties out of this one recipe. I havent even tackled designs or colorants yet just want at the least one tried true perfect soap recipe and how the heck do you use a soap calculator? I got brain fog over here lol Please Please help!!!! Truly appreciate it

I know soap looks yuck!! [emoji30]

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum! Please don't leap into selling - you need at least 1 year of soaping and 50 or more batches before you might be ready to consider selling.

What type of lye did you use? There's NAOH - sodium hydroxide. This makes bar soap.
There's also KOH - potassium hydroxide. This makes liquid/soft soap.

Here is a basic, vegan recipe that works:

Palm oil (NOT palm kernel) 40-50% (Spectrum Vegetable shortening, available at Wal-mart)
Castor 5% (available in the laxative section)