Hello everyone!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nobellius

Reaction score
What a fantastic resource this is!
Hi, my name is Joshua; I'm pretty new to soap making. I work third shift and my nights off are pretty boring. On one night off a few weeks ago I was cleaning up the kitchen, saw my can of hamburger fat (I don't dump it down the drain and I don't compost stuff like that, so it usually sits on the counter until the coffee can is full enough that I can justify throwing it away), thought about the KOH I had in the basement from other things and I decided I was going to make soap. Here I am! Haha I'll say I learned quite a few things ;)
That first batch of soap pretty much sucked. Sure it got bubbly, kinda, but the fragrance I put in it (warming oil from Walmart) couldn't quite mask the fact that some of the oil I used had been sitting on my counter for a few weeks. I also didn't know that KOH makes liquid soap, but this batch of soap was more pasty than anything.
I put some green food dye in it and it turned deep purple. Anyone ever experience anything like that?
Ah, I digress.. back to introducing myself. I'm 27, I live alone with my puppy Hero. I garden a lot, I'm a homebrewer, mostly meads and IPA's, and now I make soap. Nice to meet ya!

Joshua.

Welcome to the forum Joshua! I love mead and haven't had any in what seems like ages. I hope you are learning a lot more about soap making now and that you will have more success now and in the future :)

Welcome Joshua. Please make sure an fragrance oils you use are safe for soap and bath & body product. You can clean your grease by dumping it in a large pan and covering it with water. Bring to a boil and then set it off the burner and let the fat come to the top. Skim off the solid fat. You may have to do this a couple of times to get clean grease.