Hello and question about colours....

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGM

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new to CP soaping (have done some M&P for about a year). I took a beer soap-making workshop in November and was hooked (as I feared I'd be.....). Last week, I made my first batch at home, unsupervised, and learned a lot (swim goggles are not safety goggles! keep stirring your small pots of coloured soap so they don't turn into one big lump! oh, and above all make sure all your lye is completely dissolved, not forming a crust at the bottom of the container!). Now it's time for batch #2, a peppermint/lavender shampoo bar. I'd like to do 60% of the bar white (can I use zinc oxide to colour? I have loads of it and no titanium dioxide) and 20% each green and purple. Question is: if I'm to dissolve the zinc and micas in 1 Tbsp of oil before adding to the soap, these oils should be from the total quantity, right? I shouldn't be adding *extra* oils, should I?
thanks for the advice!

Welcome to the forum!

I think zinc oxide would be okay.
https://www.brambleberry.com/zinc-oxide-p5046.aspx

I am concerned about your green and purple colors. Where do you get them? Many colors that are sold for MP are not CP stable, and purple especially is a difficult color.

I like to mix my colors in a Dixie cup with a chopstick (I think my mini mixer is dead :( ). What a lot of people do is take out a small amount from their batch of melted oils and mix that with their colors. Try to use as little as possible. Depending on the batch size, start with a teaspoon.