Hard and Soft Oils Ratio

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
What made u add stearic acid to the recipe.?was it because you wanted hard sosp? I am new to Soaping ,just two batch old and not very happy with the results .
My first batch was really hard to take out from mould, I heard stearic acid will help with it, also, it will make the soap more long lasting in shower.

I used Disano pomace olive oil. It was a castile soap. My oil traced very fast. I had heard that olive oil is very slow moving, so it was very unexpected for me. Did you use virgin or extea virgin OO?
I used Pomace Olive Oil, EVOO or VOO are way too expensive to use in soap. Others told me ordinary olive oil is slow moving, may be its VOO, I dont know. Other slow moving they mentioned is lard, that we cant get here right?

Light Olive oil might behave better than Pomace, but no guarantees.
From your list, Rice Bran oil would probably be best for slowing the recipe down without increasing rancidity.
Sunflower would be ok, as long as it was High-Oleic. But if it doesn't specify, I would assume it is the Linoleic variety which might increase risk of rancidity if used over 15%, and Soybean and Sesame might also increase risk of rancidity if used at over 15% as well. With Peanut oil you might be ok with 20%.