Happy soap dance..

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

calico21

Reaction score
Hi I've been making soap for about 2 years now and started playing with the tops and colors and look what I got, Happy soap dance ?
Also am trying acrylic picture frames as slab mold . First time tonight we'll see how it goes.
dsc0086n.jpg

By calico21 at 2010-12-20
dsc0085cn.jpg

dsc0084g.jpg

ETA: Got the frames at Michael's for about $6 each and the happy face soap is scented with Jamaican me crazy, the other is pink grapefruit

I think you can get at walmart too. i also went to a home improvement store called Menards and got a small piece of acrylic for a lid to prevent ash but u could use plastic wrap as well. I got no gel which was my reasoning behind getting it. (yea me!) Plus i love that u can see without peeking.

Thanx for the compliments. I wanted to update the picture frame experiment. It worked, think I was a little impatient. Put in freezer for a bout 20 minutes or so to try and unmold. It came out but left a bit behind. I had in mold for about 16 hours. Should i just have left longer on counter or in freezer longer? Any thoughts? Its nice and firm but can still squish with pressure.
ETA: Love the creamy white color which is what I wanted with no gel. Will post cuts as soon as I get a longer blade to cut it.
ETA: Ok update, definitely wait longer to unmold and cut. It seems to be cutting better today. It crumbled but no zap. And I think I'll try the spritzing with alcohol next time too. Seems to have a bit of ash as its curing. Learn, learn, learn !

dsc0095m.jpg

By calico21 at 2010-12-22

Did you have to spray the acrylic prior to pouring the soap in? If so what did you use.

I colored with oregon trails liquid peony spring.