Grating soap and remoulding it

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jennfromoz

Reaction score
I just made my first batch, well tried to. I had quite a few bars of hotel soap which I grated. I made a cup of gratings. I looked up the internet and was instructed to add half the amount of water and melt in a double boiler which I did. It melted but didn't quite get pourable. It got the texture of plasticine. I added fragrance and colours and mixed but the consistency didn't change.
The only thing I could do was to push it into moulds.
What did I do wrong? As I said, this is my very first time doing this.
Thanks.

Attachments

• 20210905_013256.jpg
    20210905_013256.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210905_013316.jpg
    20210905_013316.jpg
    159.4 KB · Views: 13
I just made my first batch, well tried to. I had quite a few bars of hotel soap which I grated. I made a cup of gratings. I looked up the internet and was instructed to add half the amount of water and melt in a double boiler which I did. It melted but didn't quite get pourable. It got the texture of plasticine. I added fragrance and colours and mixed but the consistency didn't change.
The only thing I could do was to push it into moulds.
What did I do wrong? As I said, this is my very first time doing this.
Thanks.