Goats Milk Soap

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

DaRoman

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to soap making. Just made my first 2 batches last week. One of the batches I made was with store bought homogenized Goats Milk. After doing some research, I read that we here in Canada can't purchase raw goats milk, any raw milk for that matter. My questions are, how do other Canadians, who make goats milk soap and don't have their own goats, make their soap. Is it from store bought goats milk? I also read that Canadian citizens can purchase raw milk from the US and bring it over the border, up to 20kg/ person. Since I live in Niagara Falls going over the border is not too big of a deal but with the Canadian regulations, if I plan to sell soap a few years down the road, will I run into issues if I use raw goats milk in my soap.
Thanks
Sam

toxikon

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hey, fellow Canadian here with convenient US border shopping! Literally a few hours ago I made my first batch of goat milk soap! I just bought some powdered goat milk on Amazon US and picked it up across the border. I do most of my shopping on Amazon US so I didn't even think about sourcing it on our side. I divided my water into two equal portions - one to mix with lye, and one to mix with the powdered goats milk. I added the goat milk liquid at trace. It seemed to work very well, looking forward to slicing it up in a few days!

mx6inpenn

Reaction score
You don't have to use raw milk in soaps. I usually just use canned evaporated milk to have full milk the easy way. Are you wanting raw for a particular reason?

Susie

Supporting Member
Reaction score