Gel Phase?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, new to the forum and rather new to soap making and brand spanking new at making CP soap. I've been making M&P for about 1 1/2 years now and decided it was time to make the leap into CP. I've found that the new SLS free formulations of m&p soap just don't lather well (so my hubby says).
Yesterday was my first batch of CP - sooo much fun and much easier than I ever thought it would be. I used a basic recipe that I found at Brambleberry and added 2 oz of Cedarwood EO to the mix. Here's the rest of the recipe:
8 oz. Coconut Oil (24%)
15 oz. Olive Oil (44%)
11 oz. Palm Oil (32%)
4.8 oz. Lye
11.2 oz. Distilled Water
Everything was going fine until I added my EO. Immediately the mixture went to trace! I quickly finished, poured it in my mold and set it aside to cool.
Imagine my shock when I set my filled mold down and almost the entire thing had reached gel phase, just that quickly! I kinda freaked out, since I have no clue what 'gel phase' truly is, or how to deal with it! lol
24 hours later, my soap is firm enough to cut.
My question is - since I ended up with a small crack on the top, if I had put it on a heating pad or wrapped it, would the crack have disappeared completely? It did end up shrinking a little bit. I have soap that has a huge 'other colored' circle in the middle, but I'm sure it will be safe to use...
Another question - what - exactly - is gel phase and is it good or bad?
Thanks so much for all of your help! This forum is awesome!
Deb

Attachments

• cracked top.jpg
    cracked top.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 47
  • cut bars.jpg
    cut bars.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 45
  • 1st ever cp-9-15-18.jpg
    1st ever cp-9-15-18.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 43