Frustrated perfectionist!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bhelen

Reaction score
Oh man. Please tell me how many batches of soap you made before you were absolutely, completely happy with one? I am a relative beginner but I have now made 23 batches of soap, and although I have made some really good ones, not a single one has been exactly as I want. I use silicone molds so I want a really smooth finish, and I seem rarely to get the consistency right. Either it separates when I pour too early (ok that has only happened once) or it gets too thick too quickly; or I'm not convinced about the fragrance; or I attempt a new oil combo which ends up drying out my skin; or I'm not happy with the color; or it gets crazy amounts of ash; or it has lye crystals. And I haven't even attempted more than one color in the same soap! I know, it takes 10,000 hours to master a new skill, lol, but please tell me I will get it in the end!

You just need to keep going at it. One day you will be pleasantly suprised and everything will go almost as planned. I don't think we can get exactly what we are going for all the time but we can get close. I'm usually suprised with what I get when I cut my soap. Good thing I like suprises.

You should never have lye crystals if your lye is disolved appropriately. You may want to start straining your lye if you aren't sure. I probably made 300+ bars before I started seeing good things most the time.

Colors, fragrances and everything else can sometimes be a crap shoot until you become comfortable with your recipes and how things work with yours.

Sometimes colors morph, fragrances disappear or smell funky. It's all part of the fun. Though it can be frustrating.