Fruity soap??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M@e

Reaction score
Hi!
I’ve been making cold-processed soap for 2 years now and I prefer to use all-natural ingredients. From time to time, I get requests for a “fruity” soap. So, I’m wondering if anyone would like to share ideas for making a fruity scented all-natural soap. Thanks

take some fruit rinds, i. e lemon, kiwi, banana peel and boil it. Then, use the water from that for your lye. You then enhance that with the appropriate EO.

I suggest that you buy a small EO still and make your own EOs.

You can use banana puree, baby pears, mango puree, papaya puree, etc. It many ethnic deli especially Hispanic markets there are frozen purees that work well in soap. These will not leave any fragrance. Any baby food purees.

I am sorry I need to learn to read. :p I have had good luck with Key Lime EO, which is the only lime I have had hold well, and sticks well with Litsea. It is hard with Citrus Essentials, they just like to fade. Grapefruit with a small percentage of Patchouli or a tiny tiny bit of Thyme will anchor it. I mean drops of Thyme it is powerful or even Basil which is also very powerful but will stick like glue and anchor the grapefruit.

Last edited:
Have you tried the usual lemongrass, litsea, citrusy herbs? They smell so good! For other types of fruits.... I've come up with some fruity concoctions, but they just smell weird. Like palmarosa and spices, smells like apple pie and rotting roses. Just can't get it right myself.

My family kept asking me for an all natural rose soap, forgetting over and over why I couldn't ($$$$$). Eventually I made a rose FO soap and it smelled so good they didn't mind the chemicals after all ;)

Maybe just try one wee batch of FO soap?:nodding: