Freeze-Dry soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bladesmith

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm just getting started on my soapmaking journey. I've been reading and reading. I feel like I'm at the point where I know just enough to be dangerous. Planning to try my first HP batch this weekend. I read a comment about freeze-drying and it got me thinking a little (even though I don't think the comment was serious). I understand there is more happening during the cure process than just water evaporation but I'm wondering if anyone has tried to freeze-dry a freshly made soap (mostly talking about hot process here) and how that affects the curing process.

The reason I'm wondering is because I do have a freeze-dryer for other reasons and I thought it might be a cool experiment to throw a bar in and see what happens. I'll probably throw in a bar from this weekend's batch just for fun. Anyone try this before?

Cody

The freeze-dryer removes all the water from anything you put in it.

I made 2 batches of hot process soap this past weekend. My first soap! I've taken 2 of the bars and put them in the dryer. I weighed them ahead of time and going to weigh them when they get out. I'll have more results in a few hours when I can pull them out.

Should be interesting to see how the soap behaves.

20190415_150327-2016x1134.jpg

20190416_113326-1121x852.jpg

I am amazed that you have a freeze-dryer. But, then you'd probably be amazed I have an Ozone machine.

So I was curious about a Freeze Drying machine for home use and found this video. It's really quite interesting. But not inexpensive.

I am really looking forward to your reports on the freeze drying process with soap. I hope you used a liner to prevent the soap touching the metal surface of the tray while inside the machine. (Or perhaps the trays are Stainless Steel?)

Last edited: