Fragrance Usage Rate Question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jay Gee

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have been trying to learn about the difference between EOs and FOs, and how to keep scent longer in my CP soaps. I'm very new to this.

I found an 'all natural' FO, that I really think smells amazing. It's called Natural Pink Himalayan Salt and Neem Fragrance Oil, and I'm really keen on it. Here's a link: Natural Pink Himalayan Salt & Neem Fragrance Oil . I made a CP soap with it on July 7, and included pink clay that I thought might help fix the scent. It faded badly, and now I can't smell much of it at all.

There was 870 g of oil (30 oz/ 1.875 pounds) and I used 38 g of the FO. I could have used a bit more (42 g) if I was following the .8 oz per pound, which is what the supplier has suggested when I emailed looking for more information. They were quoting a general suggestion of 0.8 oz/lb though and didn't have specific information for me for this particular fragrance.

So- my question is- can I safely use more of it? I will also try to use a bit of cornstarch to fix it too. There is a 'technical information' section on the website about it, but I don't understand how it relates (or if it relates) to usage rates.

Any help is very welcome! Thanks!

1595831954951.png

Here's my faded soap...

Sadly some fragrances just don't last. I use 6% mostly but I'm in the US and I don't purchase Fo's that don't have at least 6% usage rate in soap. The supplier should be able to provide you with the IFRA documents on the fragrance. If they say it can be used up to .8 that's what I would have started with.