Fragrance making soap greasy and soft - help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kaseencook

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to the soapy world, and it sure is addictive!

My first batch of soap I used eucalyptus oil (about a tsp) and the soap would never set (and smelled weird anyway), so I though it must have been first timers error. So with my second batch I just used canola oil (hot process) and it set great, there was nothing wrong with measurements or temperatures. So with my next batch I though I would use the same successful recipe but add a touch of lavender. I cooked to trace, put in the oven as before in hot process, then once the soap was ready for the mold I mixed in the fragrance (about 1/4 tsp) with my blender and put in the molds. Not long after the soap began to sweat clear beads of dilute fragrance (much more than I had originally added, about 1/4 cup) and was soft and would not set. I tried to heat it some more in case it had not completely reacted, but it just seamed to sweat more liquid and would not harden. The measurements of lye water and oil were the same as in the successful batch previous... as I had read that clear beads of lye can leak if there was too much left unreacted

I have deduced that it has something to do with my fragrance - as that was the one varibable difference between success and failure. I think maybe I added too much or at the wrong time or stired it in too much. Does any one have any ideas about what caused this and what is the proper time and method (and amount) to add fragrance in hot process soap?

Thanks for your help!!!!

let's start with your exact formula and see where we can go from there.