Formulating Recipes

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie learning to use a lye calculator and create my first recipe. Can you tell me if two recipes with different proportions of the same ingredients calculate to have the same property values (ie, bubbly, cleansing, etc), will they both create similar feeling soaps?

The ingredients I'm working with are olive, coconut, palm, and castor oils, and either kokum or shea butter. And do you have a preference for the kokum vs the shea?

Thanks for sharing your experience to help me understand this all better!

Changing the ratios of the oils will usually change the values. More coconut and less palm will give you a less bubbly and less cleansing soap, all other things being the same.

But the numbers are not the be all and end all. The oils are more than the numbers in the calcs, so two oils with similar values can result in markedly different soaps.

I recommend reading through some pages (yes, pages!) of the recipe sections of the forum, looking at the feedback given and discussion around what and why - helps build up the picture which the values themselves can't.

Changing the ratios of the oils will usually change the values. More coconut and less palm will give you a less bubbly and less cleansing soap, all other things being the same.

But the numbers are not the be all and end all. The oils are more than the numbers in the calcs, so two oils with similar values can result in markedly different soaps.

I recommend reading through some pages (yes, pages!) of the recipe sections of the forum, looking at the feedback given and discussion around what and why - helps build up the picture which the values themselves can't.