Food grade lye, or regular lye?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuurt

Reaction score
I've heard someone advise the use of food grade sodium hydroxide for soap making rather than regular sodium hydroxide. Yet, I've read a couple of books on soap making and they just say to use regular lye. They don't mention the food grade version.

So I was just wondering which is best to use for soap making? What do you use?

I use food grade. It is what I have used from day one. I have never tried anything else so I have nothing to compare it to. I dont have issues with my soap. It behaves as it should. I get it from Essential Depot because it is certified from USA so no extra stuff we may or may not know about.
I had a fragrance rice my batch once. Fresh Bamboo from BB and I was able to save it and soap is nice. I personally and this is just my personal idea, and I am a newbie I would nt use anything else. I am confident with what I use.
My lye always behaves the same way. All my recipes.

Essential Depot seems to be the name of the company that makes food grade lye. I noticed that it's about 4 or 5 dollars for a 2 lb container depending upon whether you get it from their website or where they're selling it on amazon. Plus it's an additional 11 or 12 dollars to cover shipping cost.

So it would probably be a lot cheaper if you didn't buy your lye online because then you wouldn't have shipping cost tacked on. But, you probably wouldn't find Food grade lye anywhere offline either.

I just bought 12 pounds of lye from ED, food grade, for about $36 after shipping. The only place in town I could find lye was Ace Hardware for 15.95 for ONE POUND of the Rooto drain cleaner. Take that for what you will :wink: