FO: What's wrong wiht my olfactory senses?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AhZo

Reaction score
Hello.
I am no only beginner but also quite daft.
I started MP soap because it sounded like fun and I was using Essential Oils to help ease fibro symptoms, then added soy candles, body washes (premade, just mix in fragrance and thickener, etc), beard oil, etc. Looking at trying a moustache wax and/or beard balm today.

My experiences with fragrance in my life have not been very mainstream. I usually detest and/or am allergic to most mainstream scents (Febreze, laundry detergents, popular bourgie trends, Glade, Axe, etc).

Anyhoo, have been purchasing from several different retailers here in Canada. I've been using EOs, but have tried a few FOs. Recently picked up 3. They are horrid. Vile, even. The plumeria smells NOTHING like pumeria, more like fake fruit. The "whiskey bar" smells like someone who can't afford to be in a whiskey bar who picked up a discarded fragrance sample in the garbage of a cheep gas station. And the sandlawood smells very little like sandalwood, but again: I haven't really worn sandlawood oils since my hippie days (read: seeing the Grateful Dead. Yeah: Im old).

So, question: am I missing something?
Do I need to let them rest for abit? (put some on blotters and let them rest for a few hours so far...still >blech!<)
Do FOs tend to smell okeydokey to most people and I'm an outlier?
Should I try a small batch of candles to see if they smell right *in* something?
Or are these just bad and good oens exist out there?

It's a shame that brick and mortar stores are in such scarcity, but we'll just add that to the list of complainst along with all those kids on my lawn. ;)