Flavor oils as candy flavor?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BattleGnome

Reaction score
I found a York peppermint patty dupe recipe and I was planning on substituting other favors. Would flavor oils be acceptable to sub instead of an extract? As much as I enjoy using flavor oils in lip products I'm not too sure on actually ingesting it.

I'm not an expert either, but for what it's worth, the lip balm flavor oils that I use (from MMS) specifically say that they are not intended for use in food.

IrishLass :)

We call them flavor oils but technically they are lip-safe fragrances. If you are curious, maybe mix up a drop of flavor oil with a few drops of olive oil and taste it? I tried tasting a flavor oil by itself once - numbed my tongue and made my eyes water.

Honestly I might try it on myself but I wouldn't give the food away, unless I warned them. There are things that are safe to consume in small quantities but could have uncomfortable side effects if consumed in larger quantities.

Thanks all.

I had a feeling that no would be the answer but wanted to be sure

They sell lots and lots of candy flavors at craft stores like Michaels and ac Moore! I've used them before and they do work. Just be cognizant of the flash point of some of them (mostly if you use extracts instead) because candy making gets extremely hot. I have a story where a friend ended up in the ER with a nasty burn after a candy making related flash.

I second not using flavor oils for candies. Some of them might be ok but even those probably have a completely different usage rate.