Fixing a mistake - clarification request

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LBV

Reaction score
Hi there, I was making a laundry soap using Jan Berry's pure coconut recipe, with a small change. Unfortunately, I used the wrong lye. As it has the purpose of laundry use, I can't use it as is, so my plan is the following. I am wanting to know if my thought process and calculations are right (I am relatively new to soap making).

The recipe called for 794gm coconut fat, 248gm water, 146gm lye (NaOH).
I used 146gm KOH. As KOH requires a larger amount of lye, the mixture is currently superfatted, more lye is needed to get a 0 superfat.

If the amount of fat is multiplied by the saponification value equals the amount of lye required. Therefore I divided the amount of lye I used by the saponification value to get the amount of fat that was saponified.

146÷0.2690=543.

Subtracting the amount of fat saponified, should leave me with 251gm of fat available.

794-543=251

My plan is to melt the soap and add NaOH to make a solid bar.

251×.1910=47.9 (round down for safety).

Is my plan and calculations viable. Appreciate any advice.

Hi there, I was making a laundry soap using Jan Berry's pure coconut recipe, with a small change. Unfortunately, I used the wrong lye. As it has the purpose of laundry use, I can't use it as is, so my plan is the following. I am wanting to know if my thought process and calculations are right (I am relatively new to soap making).

The recipe called for 794gm coconut fat, 248gm water, 146gm lye (NaOH).
I used 146gm KOH. As KOH requires a larger amount of lye, the mixture is currently superfatted, more lye is needed to get a 0 superfat.