First soap batch ever

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toni Henderson

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’m new to soap making and whisked up my very first batch yesterday. I used 16 ounces of olive oil, 4 ounces of distilled water, 2 ounces of Lye, 1 tsp of sodium lactate and added some colorant. I didn’t measure that I just added it in until I got my desired color. Anyway, all of that made a one pound loaf. It sat covered overnight in its mold for 12 hours and it was solid when I woke up for the day. When I cut it (with a kitchen knife), what should’ve been single bars of soap, broke apart into pieces. What did I do wrong? Or not do?

Attachments

• D022A07C-6B8F-4D0F-B5AF-6FC54C7D8BA3.jpeg
    D022A07C-6B8F-4D0F-B5AF-6FC54C7D8BA3.jpeg
    41.6 KB · Views: 22
  • 5B3FD1E5-DB35-4C20-BC38-AA2D0F8CC3FA.jpeg
    5B3FD1E5-DB35-4C20-BC38-AA2D0F8CC3FA.jpeg
    45.6 KB · Views: 16
Welcome, Toni!

Your recipe amounts of everything look great- nothing wrong with the recipe. How hard was your soap when you cut it? Was it super hard like cutting into frozen butter, or was it more like refrigerated cream cheese (i.e. solid but soft/crumbly upon slicing). If it was super hard and broke into hard shards, I would say that you may have a lye-heavy soap on your hands due to a possible weighing discrepancy (your scale may be off). A quick zap test will confirm or deny that. If it was more of a soft/crumbly type of breakage, it's a good sign that your soap did not go through the gel stage and just needed another day before unmolding/cutting.

IrishLass :)

Edited to add- Kamahido brings up a good point...... did you weigh you ingredients or use volume measurements. If the latter was the case (volume), that's the most likely culprit for sure. Soap ingredients need to be weighed.