First lotion attempt

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mschwartz

Reaction score
Hi, I’m going to try taking the plunge into lotion making. I’m using brambleberry’s guide on formulating a recipe. So far I have 70% distilled water, 6% emulsifying wax, 5% stearic acid, 5% Shea butter, 5% cocoa butter, 6% sweet almond oil, 2% olive oil, and 1% preservative (germall 2). I’m wondering if this is going to be really thick or will it be fine? I just don’t want to waste products. Thanks for any advice!

Hello
I’ve made lotion 🧴 twice’ so I’m a newbie too’ but I can give my non-expert opinion. When I chose a lotion I wanted one that wouldn’t set on top of the skin & have a stickiness feeling’ but be smooth & fast absorbing properties. Some of the oils I’ve used in my lotion are Avocado ’ meadow foam, rose hip, cocoa butter, vitamins E, shea. of course the Opitiphen ( preservative) which you add when lotion is cooled down, other wise heat can destroy it. Now if you want your lotion more fluid then add a little more water ( very tiny amount ) at a time tell you reach the consistency you want. Hope this helps. Faster absorbing oil’s are often referred as a ‘ dry oil’. Do your research’ then it’s trial and error you’ll find what you like as you make it. A good book 📕 which I found on Amazon is easy to understand & lots of recipes.

Update:
Your formula / recipe looks good’ let us know how it turns out.
Hopefully others will chime in w/ more knowledge then I. 🤗💫🧴

Attachments

• 1B4FC44B-9473-4799-A8B0-8F9FF5ADD55C.jpeg
    1B4FC44B-9473-4799-A8B0-8F9FF5ADD55C.jpeg
    136.7 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
I definitely want fast absorption. I raise bees and lotion bars were some of my first skin care products. Some people complain about their oily feel. I upped my percentage of beeswax and it’s better but I figured I’d try real lotion now.