First batch finally ready

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

Bamagirl

Reaction score
My first batch was finally ready (4 week cure) and I grabbed an entire bar to use. It's good and I like it, but it has a grainy, gritty texture or maybe not so much gritty as just rough feeling and not smooth. However, the lather is great and bubbly and I don't notice anything unusual with it, so I am hoping it's just me not being used to homemade soap. My recipe was 50% lard, 30% olive oil, 15% coconut oil, and 5% castor oil. Since it's my first batch, I want to make sure there isn't anything wrong with it as I have no experience whatsoever. I don't think it would be lye heavy as I zap tested it at two weeks and again when I was using it and noticed the bar felt rough.

DeeAnna

Reaction score
What else is in the recipe - milk, fragrance, or ?

What was your method of making the soap?

tigersister

Reaction score
That is very close to the lard recipes I use, and none of my bars of soap have felt gritty. Are there any additives in it? Clays, colloidal oatmeal, activated charcoal among other things can add a fine gritty texture to soap.

Bamagirl

Reaction score
What else is in the recipe - milk, fragrance, or ?

What was your method of making the soap?
Lard--12.00 oz (armour)
Olive Oil-- 7.20 oz (great value classic olive oil)
Coconut Oil-- 3.60 oz (Lou Anna Non-Hydrogenated)
Castor Oil--1.2 oz (Humco)
Lye-- 3.31 oz (essential depot brand)
Water-- 9.12 oz (forgot to pick up distilled, so I used a bottle of drinking water I had)

I mixed lye into water. Melted the oils in the microwave. Mixed together when lye was around 110 degrees and oils 125. I alternated slow pulse on sb, stir, fast pulse on sb, stir ect... Took about five minutes to trace (now I realize it was probably only a thin trace) Poured into loaf type mold, covered with cardboard. Unmolded and cut the next day.