fd&c's...throw them out?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mommy

Reaction score
Hi! These boards are amazing, thanks y'all for saving me time and money and keeping me from losing sleep about my soap fails- it's so easy to find out here what went wrong!

Question: I have a few super concentrated fd&c pigment powders that I bought when I was a newbie from a food store (who knew there were soap colorants?) that seem to be water-soluble only- they just look like suspended dots when I blend them in oil, but turn to bright color when added to water.

I used them the other day in a test batch of CP black white and pink layered soap, where black and white were oxides and the pink was the water-based colorant...and the pink just won't set up, it's too wet. :x

Should I give up with these? Is there a place in CP or HP for water-based colorants or will it throw off the recipes every time? I also suspect they bleed or look blurry, but then again I have never been able to use them properly, maybe when used properly they can be vivid and distict?

Thanks so much!!

just to elaborate-
-I know by now that only soap products should be used, I'm just wondering whether these are salvageable
-I've heard that glycerin may be good for dispersing colorants, but since I don't use it for anything else, I'm not looking to stock it just for these colorants which I will never re-purchase anyway. So my question is are they viable/salvageable as oil or water based colorants if I'm looking for distinctness in the result?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
If you want to try something before giving up on them, take a recipe that you normally use and then mix the colour in as much water as is needed and take this amount of water from your main water amount. For example: