Favorite and/or least favorite words

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carly B

Reaction score
Seeing a post where @TheGecko talked about words she hated made me wonder what words folks here liked or disliked. What
words conjure up strong feelings for you, either in the way they are pronounced or their meanings? Maybe we can all learn some
new, fun words. šŸ˜ I have a tendency to love obscure words (most of my working career I was a writer in one form or another),
I always liked ameliorate and it's opposite, exacerbate, and I could occasionally work them into things. The other two words I really
like, pentimento and palimpsest, are sort of similar, but refer to different things, I have never been able to work them into a conversation,
let alone a document. But I like them nonetheless.

There was one word I really HATED when I was younger, but I can't remember what it was. I must have really hated it to remember the
feeling and block it from my memory.

Any words stand out in your mind, either positively or negatively?

OOOoo, I love word games! My family hates it when we do these at baby showers because I always win - because I'm head down over the word puzzle while others are interacting socially. šŸ˜‚

I love ameliorate and exacerbate, too!! Another favorite: disconcerting. Maybe I have a thing for four- and five-syllable words? šŸ¤£

ETA: Comport! I love that word, and it is only two syllables. :)

Last edited:
It's impossible to talk about words without talking about favorite wordsmiths...

Poe - The Grand Master of onomatopoeia -- words like "tintinnabulation" that sound like what they are describing.

e. e. cummings - known for juxtaposing one word with another to see the subject in a new light...

all ignorance toboggans into know
and trudges up to ignorance again:

Last edited:
Ooh- what a great post -- thank you!