Fats/oils that compliment or hate each other

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gdawgs

Reaction score
I'm just getting started, but are there certain oils that don't play well together(bad reactions, etc). And what are combinations that work really well together?

For example
If you use lard(or whatever), you should never combine it with ________ because it will cause the soap to ________ (fill in the blank with a bad thing)
Or
If you use Coconut oil( or whatever) you should always combine it with ________ because it makes the soap really __________(fill in the blank with a good thing)
Also, is there a calculator out there where you can give it a total batch size and the oils you want to use, and it will give you amounts of each?

there are many calculators out there that will tell you amounts after specifying a batch size. I like SoapCalc.

For recipes, I like to think of it as trying to strike a balance between what all the oils bring to the table. A rule of thumb for me is that everyone coming to my soap party has to bring something I can feel. No fillers and no teeny amounts of a bunch of oils that all bring the same basic thing.

As far as bad reactions go, just be careful with having too high a percentage of oils that are:

Stripping: CO, PKO, and Babassu
Speed Trace: Castor, Pomance OO
DOS Contributors (high amounts of Linoleic & Linolenic fatty acids. Best to keep these under 15 to be on the safe side): Hemp, Cottonseed, Sunflower, etc

To my knowledge, there are no oils that cause bad reactions. For example, if you make soap that's got a lot of your hard oils in it - palm, tallow, lard, cocoa butter, etc - it's probably going to trace very fast, perhaps too fast to swirl, etc.