Failed Again *Sigh*

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ttennis

Reaction score
I made another batch of soap (tried). It didn't come out good at all. I used goat milk, that was frozen, and lye slowly added, also in an ice bath. I think the milk still got too hot. It looked good in the mold, but the next day it was cracked on top. When I tried to cut it, it was a crumbly mess. I obviously missed something somewhere. What makes it crumble apart? And what do I do with it now? I'm getting so discouraged. I'm not good at percentage of this and percentage of that. I try to follow a spelled out recipe, like 20 oz of olive oil, 20 oz. of palm oil, etc..
20200222_221222.jpg
20200222_221233.jpg

Most of my soaps are cut after 12 hours but if I don’t gel my soaps they can take up to a week.

if you can, babysit your soap. Check every 2 hours. You’re looking for a firm cheese-texture (think cheddar). If you’re crumbling at 24 hours I’d bet the 8 or 12 hour mark will give you better cuts.

the cracking on top is most likely overheating due to the sugars in your milk but I can’t be sure without a method or recipe. You don’t have to work in % if you don’t want to, just give us the notes you write for yourself. If anyone needs clarification they’ll ask.

We often use % as a theoretical. Everyone has different sized molds so it gives us the opportunity to talk about a recipe without everyone buying the same exact equipment. If that’s not how your mind works you can mental math convert it to a 100g recipe and think 20g olive oil, 20g lard, or whatever (but it’s perfectly fine if you don’t think that way, there are billions of people in the world and everyone of those people have their own way of processing)