Facial Bars

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MommaSoaper

Reaction score
Hi all, Would this recipe be suitable for a facial bar soap? I kept CO low but wanted some cleansing. Used two butters since it's for face and saw in another thread to use butters if possible. Lard taking place of more CO. Beeswax just to sturdy up bar but will also use SL. Im still new to formulating but am really trying to learn so I appreciate the feedback. ❤️🐝

Attachments

• 16335444950617882632470550879327.jpg
    16335444950617882632470550879327.jpg
    224.3 KB · Views: 40
Hi all, Would this recipe be suitable for a facial bar soap? I kept CO low but wanted some cleansing. Used two butters since it's for face and saw in another thread to use butters if possible. Lard taking place of more CO. Beeswax just to sturdy up bar but will also use SL. Im still new to formulating but am really trying to learn so I appreciate the feedback. ❤🐝
I actually reduced the beeswax to 1% and increased the lard by 1%. 40/60 ratio now. Not sure that changes things a ton but started thinking I don't really need that much especially with SL.

I'd remove the beeswax completely. In my experience, it can leave a waxy residue on the skin I'd not want on my face.
Add the 2% to the lard
Sadly I have a very small window daily to make soap and went with 1% beeswax 😭 Very regretful as I was using heat transfer method for this soap. I melted the 1% beeswax separately and then added to hot oils (already added 33% lye solution). It looked like it already started to congeal as it hit the other oils. I quickly stick blended it and it appeared to be absorbed in as I was pouring the liquid oils. Just kept stirring and blending as much as I could. Did it fully incorporate... I'm guessing my luck today, probably not.