EO in lieu of artificial fragrances

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Greetings! I'm new to soap-making, but have some knowledge on cold process and have been experimenting using only natural ingredients in my concoctions. My issue now is that I wish to make an all-natural soap with either plain apple cider with my lye solution and/or apple puree at trace, though here is my real dilemma:
How to make my recipe smell like apples without having to use artificial fragrance oils. As far as I'm aware this is sort of impossible; I am aware that the cider/puree isn't going to keep a scent. Is there a combinations of eo which will smell at least reminiscent of sweet red apples or apple blossoms (like maybe, geranium, with something else?)? I'm not going at all for an autumn apple spice scent (no cinnamon, no nutmeg ect.), but something like the aforementioned arboreous scents. Any suggestions?

Hello and Welcome! The first thing I thought of for an apple-like scent is Chamomile. I used to grow it and when harvesting the buds, it had a light but distinct smell of fresh apple. I just love it.

There are two kinds of Chamomile EO -- Roman Chamomile and German. The Roman is the one I grew to make baby soap, infusing the buds in oil along with calendula petals. Makes a very pretty soap that's soothing to sensitive skin. German Chamomile EO is aka "Blue Chamomile" and it's expensive. I use the EO in a lotion blend I make for my wholesale customer. It has a pleasant fragrance but not like apples, tho. I've never used Roman Chamomile EO, just the flower buds, so I can't say whether it smells like apple or not. Hopefully, someone else who has used the essential oil will chime in.

Sounds like a fun project. Good luck!