Embeds all furry

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Candice

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to soap making in general and would love some help. I've been having difficulties with M & P soap for a while. From what I've read on this forum, my problems stem from the climate I live in (Queensland, Australia) which is humid in spring and summer. It rains quite often, plus I didn't use a low sweat base. At the time, I had no idea you could get a low sweat MP base.

Anyway, I attempted strawberry M & P embeds to decorate a strawberry scented CP soap. But the embeds are just weird. They have a half a centimetre thick coating of white fur. They stick to and dampen the paper towel beneath them.

I bought the clear soap base from Aussie Soap Supplies.

First off, I'm wondering how to repurpose the strawberry embeds.

Secondly, I'm wondering how on earth I can pull off M & P strawberry embeds without them getting furry.

Caveat: I don't have a huge amount of control over the temperature where I soap (my garage) as even a fan wouldn't make a marked difference. We can have stifling heat, then thunderstorms for days, then wind and dryness. Then it's cold. My CP soap responds like a trooper, as most of the time my kids go inside my soap room, smelling everything and inadvertently turning the soaps over when they pick them up. There's just no room inside my house for the soaps.

I have made CP embeds successfully, but I really like the look of MP embeds. Plus, when I make cupcake soaps, I like the look of a chocolaty drizzle, but I'm hesitant in case that too grows crystals that look like fur.