Quantcast

Edta

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

nframe

Reaction score
I found somebody on Ebay who sells it. This is the link:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/EDTA-for-...087?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2ed90cc3f7

It is sold for treating sulphated batteries. This is what they say about it:
"Please note the product we sell is EDTA acid, tetrasodium salt dihydrate, C10H12N2Na4O8.2H2O, CAS 10378-23-1."

I wrote to them to ask whether it is suitable for soap-making but they have not replied. What do you think?

IrishLass

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
It sounds to me like it's different. The tetrasodium EDTA that I have from LotionCrafters (that I use in lotion and soap) has a different CAS#: 64-02-8. And it also has a different name: Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid, tetrasodium salt hydrate (notice that there's no 'di' in front of 'hydrate').

IrishLass :)

Saponista

Reaction score
So expensive! When I worked in a lab we had massive 20kg drums of it and didn't pay anywhere near that price. Wonder if I can get an old colleague to get me a bit to try.

I usually buy chemicals mistral and they have 3 different sorts available. If you decide to use edta more often and want larger quantities I would have a look there. They have three different sorts. I think this might be the one but please correct me if I am wrong and I will change the link.

http://mistralni.co.uk/products/edta-na4-ethylenediaminetetraacetic-acid-tetra-sod

Last edited:

nframe

Reaction score
So expensive! When I worked in a lab we had massive 20kg drums of it and didn't pay anywhere near that price. Wonder if I can get an old colleague to get me a bit to try.

I usually buy chemicals mistral and they have 3 different sorts available. If you decide to use edta more often and want larger quantities I would have a look there. They have three different sorts. I think this might be the one but please correct me if I am wrong and I will change the link.