Double layered CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lankan

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to soap making. So every attempt gives me more learning points than the previous one. the one I'm going to detail is my 3rd attempt, which I made last Sunday.

I watched so many soap making videos. Got fascinated by the dancing funnel soaps and desperately wanted to try. So made all my arrangements with full motivation.

Oil blend -
Palm oil - 425g
Coconut oil - 175g
Sunflower oil - 300g
Total Oil weight - 900g

NaOH - 103.6g~104g with 2.5% super fat (according to Soapee soap cal & SoapCalc)
Lye to water ratio - 30:70
Colors - Pigment red in sunflower oil, mixed on a yogurt cup and kept & Titanium Dioxide (TD) to be added directly. (Still I couldn't find a place to purchase mica based colors, hence had to stick with oil soluble pigment colorants)
Scent - Rose essential oil
Water - Distilled, Deionized water 180ml+ 60ml of rose water
Mold - two cardboard boxes layered with baking paper, boxes approx 4cm tall, idea is to pour only up to 2.5cm. (21*11*4 + 17*14*4)

The idea was to divide the batch into two after trace, add colors and essential oils and pour into the boxes little by little creating the perfect funnel soap I always imagined..

Since I have a very limited space, dining table turned out to be my working table.

So here is my experience to really making it..

Step 1 - Got into safety wears, Dissolved the NaOH in water, measured temperature (184F), and let it cool down.
Step 2 - Powered up the stick blender
Step 3 - Lye water temperature - 123F, & Oil temp - 84F, filtered the lye water and mixed directly into the oil blend.

Now comes the interesting part, where I messed up the rest,

Step 4. - Continued stick blending, missed lite trace, and reached medium trace, mix is like pudding now.