does this soap look usable?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beckylinley

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to soapmaking, and had some issues with my second batch.

I used two pringles cans as molds, lined with freezer paper. (I now know that pringles cans aren't good for CP because of the aluminum.)

Anyway: When I tried pulling the soap out of the molds 24 hours later, they were pretty soft. When I cut it up, the top slice looked good, but then the rest seemed discolored and were darker. It seems like the majority of the soap didn't harden correctly. Since it seemed pretty soft, I waited two more days to remove the soap from the second pringles can. When I did, it had kind of a foul smell. It's been about 5 weeks now and it all smells nice, but most of it still has a dark color. You can see in the photo- the bar on the left was from the top of the mold. Any thoughts on why this happened? Was it because the mold was too deep? Is it safe to use the soap?

Here's the recipe I used:

olive oil 16 oz
coconut oil 8 oz
shea butter 4.8 oz
avocado oil 3.2 oz
water 12.16 oz
sodium hydroxide 4.44 oz

plus I added .5 oz each of lavender EO and tea tree EO. And 2 oz of ground dried lavender and 2 oz of ground toasted oats.

Thank you for any advice! Still figuring out the basics.

Moved form CP

soap.jpg

Last edited:
I had the same thing (minus the smell) happen with my coconut milk soap. The soap has gelled, which can effect the colour. The middle gets hotter than the outside, which is why you get the "ring" in the middle.

Apparently the soap is still usable, assuming that you zap tested etc.. The colour is just a cosmetic thing.

I had the same thing (minus the smell) happen with my coconut milk soap. The soap has gelled, which can effect the colour. The middle gets hotter than the outside, which is why you get the "ring" in the middle.