Does this recipe look ok?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jennyannlowe

Reaction score
Can you see the pic of the calculator and tell me if it looks ok?

1453342709508.jpg

I have nothing to offer on your recipe, since I don't use palm or sweet almond oil, however....

If you're not sure if you like a recipe, you may want to consider making a smaller batch than the one you have planned. That's a lot of soap to use if you don't like the end result.

True. I'm a newbie obviously and indecisive and overly cautious. I need to just pick one and go with it. I suppose a beginners recipe is still the best way...no matter how complicated the artist in me wants to be. I taught myself to paint and have been doing so for years. Soap and candles are my new project to learn and true to form...I tend to want to plunge ahead. In painting that can be beneficial. Course this is totally different.

Ok. 4 oil recipe it is. Thanks. Just needed to make my mind up.

Not that there is not artistry in the recipe, but I think more artistry is available in working on the appearance of the soap, in whatever way it appeals to you. Simple recipes seem to give the best soap when you factor cost, qualities, storage, and performance of the soap. I agree with Black Dog in saying that I would start with small batches in the 16-28 ounce range instead of over 50 ounces when you are starting out. It will amaze you how fast you accumulate more soap than you can ever use yourself, or more than you can steadily give away!

Makes sense. I'll do that.
I always tend to want to overdo things. It shows in my abstract artwork...I can't just use a couple colors...nope. I gotta use them all. For that WOW factor. Sometimes that part of me is an idiot cause I could have already started on my soap days ago. Instead I've been trying to come up the perfect recipe. Ridiculous. I know.