Do you have a good face cream recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OnceUponATime

Reaction score
I've been browsing this forum for a few months. Started off wanting to make lotions and got caught off taking soap classes for melt and pour and then CP. I haven't tried the CP yet but am getting very close to trying my first batch.

However, my question has to do with lotions. I got fed up with all those expensive face creams out there loaded with fragrances. I just cannot tolerate the fragrance. There are loads that have the texture and everything right but the scent will give me a headache. I've tried 3 recipes so far and am not happy with any of them. The first I got somewhere on the web and it was the best out of the 3 but I found it too oily. After a few days I noticed even my hair was getting oily (maybe getting transferred from my hands?) . The next two batches were from the book "Making Aromatherapy Creams & Lotions' by Donna Maria. I have to say I have not been thrilled with this book. Most of the recipes have far too many ingredients in it that I don't have. I don't want to go out buying all this stuff if I find I don't like the recipe afterwards. The first recipe I made from this book I had to make quite a few substitutions. The cream came out super super super thick. So I added more water. LOADS more water to make it a nice consistencey. Then afterwards it was too watery because when I used it on my face it didn't moisturize very well. Then the next batch was a bit more simpler and I followed it exactly but I still didn't like the consistency. Still too thick and this time some of it may be my fault as I don't think the oils/wax got mixed with the water