Discolouration.....to white???

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGM

Reaction score
Been doing some 9oz oils sample batches to test FO and also so I don't have tooooo much of a subpar batch. Been using same recipe, masterbatching oils, then using either milk cartons or rectangular molds. Not wrapping, so who knows if things are gelling. Did 2 batches on Friday and 3 today.

Here's the thing...I've had plenty of experience and reading about FOs discolouring to tan/brown or certain micas going off or whatever.

But...has anyone ever had the discolouration go to WHITE? I've been trying to get a nice white bar, but keep forgetting that most oils are yellow, and the one time I used lard, the FO didn't discolour, but was orange-y enough on its own (what with it being orange EO....mmmmm yeah). In the photos, both soaps looked the same yellow of the big one (maybe a titch lighter) when I poured. Overnight, one got a little more yellow and the other went stark white! FO of the green & white is NDA Woodland Themes; in the other one, it's NDA's Sensual Amber. BTW, the mossy green in the big block one is Titanic Gold mica---very different from the colour it went in (maybe it was underwater on the Titanic for a while?).

Poured 3 more batches today....will update with any anomalies...

Attachments

• discolour to white 1.png
    discolour to white 1.png
    955.3 KB · Views: 78
  • discolour to white 2.png
    discolour to white 2.png
    1,000.3 KB · Views: 69
I have had soaps go much lighter/whiter after they gel on occasion. Not often but sometimes. I use a lot of light oils to begin with but add milks so they are usually a pale ivory.

Did I understand correctly - the white ones should be closer in color with the yellow/orange soap?