Digressions around the 100% olive oil soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kayak1987

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new, I decided to sign in this forum because I have to use around 70kg of old Extra Virgin olive oil
so I decided to start making and experimenting on soap.
I'm a chemist and I read all I can on the argument for the last week.

So I learn a lot also from this forum and I finally decided to make my fist attempt yesterday
Before I show what I've done and what cames out I want to explain what brings me to this decision and what is my target.

I see and understand quite all about the HP, CP, Lye excess salted out, but some thing I dont like is that (except the salted out) we are going to add aromas when the saponification is still in process (so destroying the most part), another is the consistance of most of the HP soap when pouring in the mold. so I decided to start experimenting some variation.

1)hot process soap with 2% lye discount (first because I dont like oily soap, second because my lye is old so for sure goes on carbonation and lost part of his "power")
2) add more water to have a more liquid soap after "trace" and have the option to add the aroma at saponification "almost done"

This is what I make
1004 g of EVOO,
132g NaOH,
2.5 Teaspoon Salt,
around 600ml of water
Cooked and stick mixed for around 40 minutes taking it around 80/90 °C
let it cool a little add 4 tablespoon of used grounded coffee (just not to leave it white-yellow, and to have an idea if at the ens any aroma is still in)
Poured in mold, covered with plastic and put in the oven (preheated and off) at 40°C

Result
Soap hardens and unmold in about 10h,
hard soap, uniform, surface like wax, glass lucid on cuts, tendency to make flakes.
Very rich in water inside, flakes dries just while looking at them.