Different Molds

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lilfix

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm fairly new to soap making, so I've not strayed far from the typical mold containers (wood with freezer wrap), so I have a question about the other types of molds you can use, if any. I would like to make round bars and was wondering what I could use?

I've heard PVC Pipe? However, I'm not sure what to use on the ends to cap it off and I'm not sure if I have to put anything inside to keep the soap from sticking, etc...or even if this is something I can use.

I've also heard empty Pringles cans?

I guess my questions are:

1. What type of containers can I use?
  2. What do I need to do to keep the soap from sticking to the container?
  3. If I use plastic or some other type of mold, do I still need to put it in a cardboard box and drape a towel over the box?
Thanks, :razz:

How about shipping banner/poster tubes? They're very sturdy and usually come with caps. I have a 3 inch diameter tube that l line with a thin plastic cutting board from the dollar store. Easier than freezer paper and the soap/liner slide right out with a few taps. I've used 1 litre milk cartons, tea bag sachet boxes, lots of small disposable molds for testing out different sizes and shapes. Whatever you do, don't use aluminum at all, or nonstick baking pans.

You should do a search in the forums and online and guaranteed you will get all the answers you're looking for.

I like Crystal LIght containers (well, they're oval now, but some of the other brands of diet Koolaid are still round). I spray them with Pam, pour the soap in and insulate. The next day, put in freezer for a few hours, take out, let sit a few minutes, and slide the soap out.

I use PVC I cap the bottoms with a double layer of press and seal and rubber bands. I spray my inside with Mineral or Baby oil.