Deciding which oils to superfat

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeorgeM

Reaction score
I am new to soap making and I have been experimenting with different recipes. Lately, I was experimenting with olive oil, coconut oil, shea butter, castor oil and hemp seed oil superfatting it at 10%.

I have been using the brambleberry.com lye calculator to calculate my superfat. My question is this: Is there a way to choose which particular oils you want to superfat in a recipe? Or is it just a case of throwing the amount in the calculator and all oils are superfatted equally if you know what I mean? Is there a way to know at which level each oil is being superfatted in a recipe? I am aware that there is a SAP value in each oil. Does that play a role in all this and how are the calculations done to make any conclusions?

Ok, I see. Isn't there a formula or a predictable pattern for CP to at least know which soaps are being superfatted first?

Ok yeah, I meant "oils", lol! I guess what I am trying to ask is this: Are all oils you put in a recipe being superfatted equally? Doesn't that depend on the SAP value of each oil?

No, there is no way to control which oils the lye will use or not use in cp. So if going with cp just add in your superfat % in the lye calculator. In my opinion, 10% is a high superfat. you can control the feel and gentleness versus harshness by making a balanced bar with 20% or less CO.

The fats in a particular soap batch aren't necessarily all consumed equally. Some limited lab experiments by Kevin Dunn, author of Scientific Soapmaking, have shown that to be true. But there isn't any way to know what percentage of the various fats remain intact unless you have a decent chem lab and the budget to operate it.