Curing question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jen74

Reaction score
I am getting ready to make a batch of soap and this time will be adding ROE to my soap to see if this will help prevent rancidity. Here is the thing, I usually place my soap out and let a fan run while it cures over 4 to 6 weeks. Here is the issue, we have our house up for sale and people are coming through certain days to view it. During this time, I will have pack the soaps in a box and hide them just for the showings which is like an hour or two. I can then put them back out to continue curing after that. Will this effect the curing process or cause rancidity?

I'm in my third year of soap making and I have never had a soap go rancid and I don't add anything to my base oils/butters other than Sodium Lactate and Kaolin Clay. It should be noted that I live in the Pacific Northwest and it can get fairly damp during the Fall/Winter and I cure and store my soap in my mostly, uninsulated garage.

Rancidity is often caused by using old oils/butter, or using tap water, well water or even purified water that contain heavy metals from old pipes or naturally occurring metals, an unnecessarily high super fat, using bare metal racks, high humidity, using ingredients that can go rotten in soap to name a few.

With that said, boxing up your soaps for an hour or so shouldn't cause any problem.

I'm in my third year of soap making and I have never had a soap go rancid and I don't add anything to my base oils/butters other than Sodium Lactate and Kaolin Clay. It should be noted that I live in the Pacific Northwest and it can get fairly damp during the Fall/Winter and I cure and store my soap in my mostly, uninsulated garage.