Curing Method and place

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arya_botani

Reaction score
Hello.

I'm new in soap making. I already made 4 small batches. I live in Bali with high humidity. I stored my soap in open place with good air flow with little bit sun in the morning and bright in day light. While i don't have rack I placed all my soap on tray.
After cutting i know they will gelling but they all fine. The problem is after 3 weeks curing times they still look watery even when i touched i felt it slide on my glove (they harden enough). I used water discount for all my soap.
Anyone know what should i do? So my soap will not feel sticky. Should i use fan? I don't have aircon. (I use only 5% castor oil on my recipe)

Hello and welcome. Be sure the tray is Lined with paper towel or something and not sitting on the metal directly. Also they need to be kept out of the sunlight. As for the humidity, if you can put a fan on them that will help with the circulation and drying them.

Hello and thank you for your reply :)

I used plastic trays. So i should lining the bottom trays with paper towel, right?
I don't have any place without sunlight in my house :cry: only some part of my kitchen and that is my mom's area haha and very humid. Even the wall getting moldy.

If possible, would be great if you could find a wooden tray with slats- spaces between the wood so your soap can get airflow all around it.

If not then use paper towels or cotton tea towels to line the trays as they will absorb some of the moisture. Replace regularly.

You could put your soap on top of a cupboard or something high. They must not be in the sun at all. Yes a fan will help but you might always have to use one because if moisture always remains on the soap the might go rancid.

Thank you for your advice ^^
I will try to find other dark space.