CP vs HP

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sholdy

Reaction score
I've made both CP and HP, and really haven't noticed much difference in the final product.

However, I've only made a few batches - I'm still a beginner. :?

What do you feel are the differences between a CP bar of soap and a HP bar of soap? Is the CP usually smoother?

How about when you put CP in the oven at 180'ish for a couple hours to promote full jell - isn't that kinda like HP? lol I haven't tried this method yet, but I'm going to be doing it as soon as my order of lye gets here (going through withdrawals...argh!!! so addictive!!)
:shock:

One thing that when I do HP, I tend to mix it a lot when I add my fragrance. It whips a little air into it so it floats and isn't quite as dense as CP.

I'm still learning too...to me I think it depends on what kind of soap you want.... if you want a clear soap then you HAVE to use hp...., or if you are using certain colorants, HP will give a much more reliable color.

As for the quality of the soap. Some people like the clear HP soap because it has no superfat...

oops- Missjulesdid, HP soaps definitely can have superfat- I know because I make all of my soaps HP and mine have plenty of unsaponified fat :)

You may be thinking of liquid soap, which is made in the same manner as HP, just with KOH instead of NaOH. These soaps have very little superfat, if any, so they remain clear.

The difference between HP and CP in the end product has to do with the crystaline structure of soap. When soap is heated to 195 deg F or so, it goes through a "glass transition phase", or gel. After this, as the soap cools, the soap molecules will rearrange themselves into a stucture which is slightly different from a soap which has never reached this temperature. HP soaps may be more translucent. CP soaps which go through full gel will have this same stucture.