CP Thickens so quickly!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DarthSuds

Reaction score
So I am relatively new to soap making but after watching a trillion tutorials I should be a pro it seems like. I’m having difficulty working with my batches after hitting trace. Here’s my recipe blend:
Cocoa Butter - 12%
Coconut Oil 76 - 27%
Castor Oil - 14%
Olive Oil - 28%
Shea Butter - 19%
Lye + Water = 44% of Oil

I’m letting the lye cool to about 110d before mixing with my oils which are around 100d. I’m getting to trace with a stick blender in about 1 minute. Then I add my FO/EO and add Mica powder directly to the mix. Stick blend again.

Once i get to pouring, the batter becomes more like pudding and I’d like to know how to keep it more liquid for longer. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Too much stick blending for the amount of hard oils you have. My recipe is 65% hard oils and I pulse the stickblender - meaning that I run the stick blender for 3 seconds, hand stir with the blender for 15-20 seconds, and alternate between running/not running the stick blender for 2 minutes or less. I add my fragrances (EO or FO) to my oils before adding the lye so that I don't have to run the stick blender after getting to trace (just to combine colors). After some experience you'll be able to recognize emulsion and won't need to bring your recipe to trace. This makes it easier to separate, add colors and stickblend the colors in without getting your batter too thick.

A few things to keep in mind:
There's a great video on the forum showing emulsion. Use the search function to find it.
Some FO/EO will cause your batter to thicken up. (Acceleration) Know what you're adding and how it's going to react.