Could someone tell me what's going on here?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackofhearts

Reaction score
Hello all!
Long time, no post. Rest assured I'm doing well and I've been soaping consistently thanks to the advice and help I've gleaned from here!
While I've been soaping for the past 3-4 years, this my first time soaping in my new place during a heat wave (it's like 90f and 90% humidity).
Thinking I was being clever, thinking I was smart I put some soap I made today in my largely unused side stair well landing. Given that I've made this recipe (10% CO, 10% Castor, 30% OO & 50% Lard) dozens of times with the same fragrance oils (BB Rustic woods and rum & CC Sage and Citrus); I decided to put out on the landing, which was probably over 100f today, to encourage gel. It seemed to work.
Unfortunately, there seems to be some clear liquid on top that has an oily sheen to it. This has never happened to me before. Does anyone know what it is? Did a mess up? Is it salvageable?

Thanks so much!
Jack

upload_2018-8-8_19-50-39.jpeg

Thanks for the quick response! Y'all are awesome!
I'll let it sit. I took it in to an air conditioned room. Out of curiosity, what is it? Lye? Glycerin?
Thanks!

"...Out of curiosity, what is it? Lye? Glycerin?..."

It's liquid. :cool: Rub a bit between your gloved fingers (it's probably highly alkaline so be careful) and then gently try to rinse it off under cold water. If it rinses off, it's water based -- water, lye, glycerin, etc. If it doesn't, it's fat based -- fragrance, fats, etc. -- or a blend of both. That's about as close as you can come, because whatever the liquid is, it isn't just fragrance or just lye or just fat, even though it's tempting to assume that.

I agree with Shari to let the soap sit for a day or three. The liquid should reabsorb.