Complicated multi-wick bravit candle

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

afikomenfinder

Reaction score
I recently saw a GIF online of this amazingly interesting bravit candle, which has multiple wicks that maze their way through the flat, thin candle and create interesting paths for multiple flames to start and stop throughout the candle's burning.

v7N6xik.gif

http://geekologie.com/2008/02/bravit-candle-is-neat-expensiv.php

It appears you can't buy these anymore (correct me if I'm wrong) but anyways, I'm a tinkerer and so I'd rather make some myself.

I've only ever made one candle before (a parafin candle in a coke can for the mold, came out with a nice shape) so I'm still a noob and I'm looking for advice on making this.

I'm thinking of a mold made of either wooden walls screwed together, or perhaps machined of aluminum, which I can make.

The hard part, and where I'll probably need more suggestions, is the wick. The wick in that candle above is an odd, honeycomb shaped thing, which works well but would probably be pretty complicated to make. I'm considering two alternatives: 1) making a net out of candle wicks and using that as the wick, which will allow the flames to still dance and move side to side, but unfortunately with less 'randomness', or 2) a wooden wick that I can bend/reshape into any shape I want and create my own random pattern of sideways and up/down wick path.

The net would be easier to hang in the mold, since I can support it at the top and just hang it down in while I pour the wax. The wooden one might not be bad either though, because it would be pretty rigid, whereas the 'net' wick would tend to get pushed around by the molten wax as it fills the mold and might get pressed up against the side instead of staying in the middle.

Anyways, those are my initial ideas. Anyone have any suggestions?! Thanks for your help!