Complete Soap Newbie here!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soapydee

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I've been wanting to start making soap/bar shampoo for a while for 2 main reasons. Firstly I really want to reduce the amount of plastic we use in our house and secondly myself and my two daughters have very sensitive skin and scalp. One daughter especially- we still haven't found a shampoo that doesn't irritate her and as she heads into her teens is becoming more conscious of her scalp. Anyway I have only made one soap so far but can't wait to get some lovely natural recipes and get going!

Welcome.gif

I have only made one soap so far but can't wait to get some lovely natural recipes and get going!

Please read: Advice to Beginners There you will find a link to Lovin'Soap Studio and an excellent Tutorial for making CP (Cold Process) Soap as well as other TIPS for Newbies.

Basic Trinity of Oils is a starter formula where you can learn about the 3 basic elements of a balanced bar of soap.

Last edited:
I find many store-bought shampoos (based on synthetic detergents) to be irritating to my scalp as well. If I buy shampoo, I have to spend a frustrating amount of time reading ingredients lists to figure out which ones are likely to work for me.

Unlike Zany, I can't use lye-based soap as a shampoo at all, even with an acidic rinse after washing.

I make my own shampoo bars based on synthetic detergents that I know don't irritate my scalp. I like them very much.

Thanks so much, it's great to get that info and I will definitely do a lot more research on benefits/ possible issues with using the lye based products on hair. I may have to look at other ways of making natural shampoo, especially for my daughters- I'd hate to ruin their beautiful hair